Confession & other stuff I avoid.

My-Confession-For-Little-Catholics1-800x800

Are you like me and you haven’t been to confession for a while? Maybe even decades? It’s ok, I am not here to judge you AT ALL!

My last confession was last year when my youngest went to her First Reconciliation. You know the drill if you have kids that have made their First Holy Communion. You all meet in the parish and if it’s small like many parishes some kind visiting priests help out.

One in each corner and you do this Confession facing the priest (no anonymity here) . Your kid is fidgeting wondering why you’re crying and WHAT could be taking Mommy SO LONG?

Wait that’s just me, sorry I get side tracked.

Anyway before the Sacrament our old priest ( I say old as in he was transferred to a remote town and serve 3 parishes and we miss him terribly). Father Steve was such a kind and gentle priest. He gave the best homilies (that’s a sermon for you non Catholics following along).

He had an amazing way of making his homilies relatable to the kids during Tuesday morning all school mass.

The one he gave for this Reconciliation Retreat was all about his dad off roading in his Jeep. When he arrived home Fr.Steve and his mom thought his dad had taken someone else’s Jeep at the event (his dad is in his 80’s).

Then they realized it was just covered in mud. At which point his wife read him the riot act and said NO WAY was he washing that mess in their driveway.

Well, Fr.Steve concluded that’s what Reconciliation is all about, Jesus washing away our sins and forgiving us. Great analogy for kids to follow along.

So cut to me sitting face to face with Fr. Steve, where I confessed my sins and he forgave me, but at the end he gave me a beautiful gift. He said “May God forgive you, and for all the sins you may have failed to mention you are also forgiven. Go now and sin no more. Your penance is 1 Hail Mary and 2 Our Fathers” (or something along those lines).

I was stunned with this beautiful grace he had passed along to me by the power of forgiving my sins, even the ones I was too ashamed to admit.

Matthew 18:18 “Truly, I say to you, whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.”

John 20:23 “If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.”

2 Corinthians 2:10 “Anyone who you forgive , I also forgive. What I have forgiven, if I have forgiven anything, has been for your sake in the presence of Christ.

0f543fa0ee2bf1f01912a3c0408695a2

 

So what’s in it for the priest? Have you ever asked yourself this? Well, here as amazing article that will shed light on the absolute beauty of the sacrament Reconciliation.

My Side of the Confessional: What Is It Like For A Priest? By Fr. Mike Schmitz

If you have never heard of Fr. Mike Schmitz you can find his homilies and reflections on his blog BulldogCatholic.org or check out one of his great video’s Making a Good Confession on YouTube.com. Once you get past the fact that he is a dead ringer for Jon Hamm of Mad Man fame, he is a charismatic and thoughtful young priest with a wonderful way of explaining our faith.

So what are you waiting for? Grab that grace and wash those sins right outta your life!

Until we meet again, may God hold you in the palm of his hand.

Your friend,

Pilar The Papist Squirrel

 

 

Leave a Reply

